What Mom Really Wants

11 May

On my first Mother’s Day, I couldn’t wait to get away from my baby. I know that sounds terrible, but you just might be surprised to find that there are lots of moms who feel this way. I was working full-time, teaching, so I was surrounded by kids all of the time. Not only that, I had no idea what I was doing as a parent and I felt like I was drowning.¬†Fortunately, my husband was very in tune with what I was feeling and planned a very special day just for the two of us.

Over the years, my family has grown and we have celebrated Mother’s Day in a variety of ways but we still have many traditions. My kids always bring me breakfast in bed and as they’ve gotten older, the breakfast has gotten better! We go to church together, as a family and during the day, I take some time for myself. My favorite treat is to lay in the hammock, covered with a blanket and I read until I fall asleep. In the evening we go out to dinner so I don’t have to cook. These are such special gifts my family gives to me each year.

Do you know how the mom in your family likes to celebrate her special day? Ask her what she would like to do. Here’s what some of our moms would like to do.

Leave a Reply

